Skip to product information
1 of 2

absorta est...

absorta est...

Jan Börner, Ensemble Il Profondo

Regular price €19,90 EUR
Regular price Sale price €19,90 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

absorta est... of confidence and bliss

Ensemble Il Profondo & Countertenor Jan Börner

Early cantatas and sacred concerts of the 17th century

May 2014 - The ten musicians of the Basel ensemble Il Profondo and the countertenor Jan Börner meet in the former Capuchin monastery of Solothurn in northwestern Switzerland. They bring with them carefully selected early baroque cantatas and sacred concertos from the 17th century for their solo debut album "absorta est...", including three new discoveries that can be heard here as world premiere recordings.

"absorta est...", which means "has been overcome...", may allude to the overwhelming nature of death in this world. This theme runs like a thread through the baroque works on the album.

Although modern notated versions of most of the works already exist, the musicians have decided to study the works directly from the original manuscripts . These often contain little information on dynamics, tempo or instrumentation. The musicians of Il Profondo approach the possibilities for interpretation that this opens up with their knowledge of historical performance practice and the study of compositional structure. They describe some of their findings in the booklet for "absorta est...".

Especially for this recording, the musicians have borrowed an original Italian processional organ from the 17th century, the bellows of which are still pulled by hand to coax sounds out of it. In addition, the singer Jan Börner is accompanied by theorbos, archlutes and double basses, as well as a bass dulcian, the ancestor of today's bassoon. Depending on the requirements of the respective work, the violin line-up is chosen from among various instruments, which, unlike modern violins, are all played on the arm. In addition to three violins, which are occasionally used for solo parts, a viola consort can also be heard - consisting of four violin instruments of different sizes, which the violin maker Daniel Frisch has modelled on the historical models.

The artfully designed booklet (in German and English) contains the lyrics as well as numerous photos and informative texts about this extraordinary production.

Ensemble Il Profondo:

  • Johannes Keller, organ
  • Eva Saladin, Viola
  • Anais Chen, Viola
  • Sonoko Asabuki, violin, viola
  • Johannes Frisch, viola
  • Dominique Tinguely, Dulcian
  • Mirko Arnone, theorbo and tiorbino
  • Daniele Caminiti, theorbo
  • Josías Rodríguez Gándara, archlute
  • Federico Abraham, violin

Tracklist "absorta est..."

World premiere recordings: Titles 1, 7, 10

01. Johann Theile (1646–1724)–: »Why art thou sad, my soul?« Alto solo with 3 viols de bracc. and Violono vel Fagotto – D-Dl Mus. 1856-E-500
02. Johann Rosenmüller (ca. 1619–1684): »O anima mea suspira« a 3; Alto with two violins – S-Uu Vmhs 33:6 / Vmhs 83:70
03. Heinrich Scheidemann (ca. 1595–1663): »Betrübet ist zu dieser Frist« [for harpsichord or organ] DW Cod. Guelf. 8 Noviss. 20
04. Johann Christoph Bach (1642–1703): »Ah, that I had enough water« Alto è Violino, con 4. Complimenti ad placitum – S-Uu Vmhs 3:1
05. Samuel Capricornus (1628–1665)–: »Adeste omnes fideles« a 2, Alto con Violino – S-Uu Vmhs 9:1
06. Romanus Weichlein (1652–1706)–: Sonata III from Encænia Musices, Op. 1 [for 2 violins, 2 violas, violone and basso continuo]
07. Martin Köler [Colerus] (ca. 1620–1703/4): »Lord how long« [for alto and basso continuo] from Sulamithic soul harmonies, that is, unanimous joy-hall of the most spiritual psalms [...] Hamburg (Naumann) 1662
08. Georg Schmetzer (1642–1697)–: »O dulcis amor Jesu« a 3; Alt. solo con 2 Viola – S-Uu Vmhs 34:17
09. Johann Vierdanck (1605–1646): »Sonata à 2 violini soli« from another part of newer pavanes, gagliardes, ballets and correntes, including several capricci, canzoni and sonatas, Greifswald 1641
10. David Pohle (1624–1695)–: »Lord, if I only have you« a 6; Alto solo, a 5 Viol et Basso Continuo – S-Uu Vmhs 32:8


View full details